Congratulations to our 5 IIA athletes from FSCPC, MSBFSC, & WFSC who were invited to compete at the 2020 USFS Novice/Junior Virtual Challenge Skate!

Over 40 athletes were selected to compete in the 2020 U.S. Novice and Junior Challenge Skate, which will be held virtually for the first time by U.S. Figure Skating. The competition, which will include U.S. junior medalists and Junior Grand Prix athletes, will be available for on-demand viewing on the video corner of the U.S. Figure Skating Fan Zone starting on Friday, Sept. 18.

The selected athletes will have an opportunity to compete head-to-head with other top skaters from around the country in four events – novice ladies, novice men, junior ladies and junior men. Entrants have skated and recorded their short program and free skate at their own rink. The videos, which the athletes each submitted to event organizers, will be assessed by a judging panel, including national, U.S. and international judges, who will judge the event remotely. Participants will receive an overall score, placement and one-on-one feedback from officials in order to prepare for the qualifying season. They will also attend virtual educational programming, including a yoga class with 2018 Olympian Madison Hubbell.

All competition footage will be available on-demand on the Fan Zone on Friday, Sept. 18. A full list of entrants is detailed below (subject to change).

Novice Ladies

Hannah Baldwin*
Alina Bonillo
Morgan Heavrin*
Tia Hilbelink
Ellie Kam
Cindy Lin
Elyce Lin-Gracey
Emilie Mao
Ava Neuhaus
Gabriela Summer Panaligan
Brynn Roberts*
Jordan Scott
Lisa Zhu

Novice Men
Daniel Borisov
Lucas Broussard
Allan Fisher
Jonathan Hildebrandt
Lake Liao
Jacob Sanchez
Taira Shinohara
Beck Strommer

Junior Ladies
Gwen Bloesch
Elsa Cheng
Sofia Frank
Hannah Herrera*
Tamnhi Huyunh
Mia Kalin
Michelle Lee
Isabeau Levito
Cathryn Limketkai
Hannah Lofton
Lindsay Mattenson
Audrey Meredith
Maryn Pierce
Haley Scott
Adele Zheng
Ava Ziegler

Junior Men
Goku Endo
Joseph Klein
Kai Kovar*
Samuel Mindra
Robert Yampolsky

  • IIA athletes